My fear of being too comfortable

by melanieliangjm

IMG_5031

Humans are said to be rational beings. Are we really rational? If we are, why is it that we don’t seem to discern between what are feelings and what are thoughts; between being alone as compared to being lonely; or being too comfortable as compared to being contented? Sometimes we can’t even discern between instances that are pure coincidences as compared to things that are “meant to be” (fate, religion, whatever you believe in).

Maybe we’re both. The act of thinking seems like what rational beings would do, yet our feelings are irrational. Should we listen to our rationalisations, or our feelings? If there’s a straightforward and full-proof answer to that, maybe the word “regret” might cease to exist.

On a side note, I might have a fear of being too comfortable with the way things are. Not that I’ll put myself in uncomfortable situations for no good reason, but I just think that sometimes, being too comfortable with the current situation would make me stop questioning what I’m doing. Being too comfortable might set me in a meaningless routine which goes on merely for its own sake. I am still contented with my life though (I sure hope so). I think that contentment and comfort are separate entities. Maybe I’m wrong. I don’t know (who is to determine what’s right or wrong anyway…), but to me, although I can feel contented with where I am and what I have, I still see the need to question my purpose of doing the things I do in order to stay where I am and protect what I have. I actually don’t think I make any sense at all. Perhaps it has to be put into context as to why I’ve been questioning myself these days. And perhaps I think too much about everything.

There are pros and cons to this way of thinking, obviously. While I continue to learn more about myself and try to understand why people do what they do, I might be missing out on the chance to just feel and not think, or the choice to just let go and let nature take its course…

